.comment-link {margin-left:.6em;}

Friday, July 22, 2005

 

Break it on down, now.

The game resource list has ballooned. I need to separate game publishers into groups. I tried breaking it into: board games, war games, card games, minis, rpgs but there was just too much overlap.

Dividing it into Major, Minor, Tiny is impractical, because several tiny companies have produced more games than some of the Major companies.

The ideal breakdown would be by the size of print runs, or size of the desktop operation, but that would be near impossible to do.

Right now I am leaning toward "Companies Coldfoot likes", "Companies Coldfoot is indifferent to", and "Companies Coldfoot has never heard of". Unfortunately the last category would need to be broken down further to be practical.

Any ideas?

Here's the BGG link to the entire list. Here you can click on the address of each individual publisher and it will pop up in a new screen.


Game Publishers

3 a.m. Games........ http://www.3amgames.com/
3J Games............ http://www.freewebs.com/3jgames/
Alea................ http://www.aleaspiele.de/Pages/Title/
Alea Ludopress...... http://www.simtacludopress.net/Alea_default_ing.htm
Ape Games........... http://www.apegames.com/
Asmodee............. http://www.asmodee-us.com/
Atlas Games......... http://atlas-games.com/
Austrailian Design Gr. http://www.a-d-g.com.au/
Avalanche Press..... http://www.avalanchepress.com/index.php
Avalon Hill......... http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=ah/welcome
AZA Spiele.......... http://www.aza-spiele.de/frameset.php3?sprache=e&start=ja
Battlefront......... http://www.battlefront.com/index.htm
Blackcat Studio..... http://www.blackcatstudio.net/
BlindLuck Studios... http://www.blindluckstudios.com/
Blue Guidon......... http://www.blueguidongames.com/
Canons en Carton.... http://fredbey.club.fr/CeC_US.htm
BTRC................ http://www.btrc.net/
CardChess........... http://www.cardchess.com/games/index.html
CheapAss............ http://www.cheapass.com/
Clash or Arms....... http://clashofarms.com/
Columbia............ http://www.columbiagames.com/
Compass Games....... http://www.compassgames.com/
ConsimPress......... http://www.consimpress.com/
Critical Hit........ http://www.criticalhit.com/
Cwali............... http://www.cwali.com/
Dancing Eggplant.... http://www.dancingeggplant.com/
Decipher............ http://decipherstore.fanhq.com/
daVinci............. http://www.davincigames.com/
Days of Wonder...... http://www.daysofwonder.com/
Decision Games...... http://www.decisiongames.com/
DG Associates....... http://www.dgagames.com/
DVG................. http://www.dvg.com/
Eagle............... http://www.eaglegames.net/
Eight Foot Llama.... http://www.eightfootllama.com/
Face 2 Face......... http://www.face2facegames.com/
Fantasy Flight...... http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/
Fiendish............ http://www.fbgames.co.uk/
Fiery Dragon........ http://www.fierydragon.com/
Flying Buffalo...... http://www.flyingbuffalo.com/
Games Workshop...... http://www.games-workshop.com/
Gecko............... http://www.cwali.com/
Gio Games........... http://www.giogames.it/
GMT................. http://www.gmtgames.com/
Grapac (Japan)...... http://www.grapac.co.jp/
Great White Games... http://www.peginc.com/Games/Games.htm
Grenier Games....... http://www.greniergames.com/
Grey Ghost Press.... http://www.fudgerpg.com/
Hangman Games....... http://www.hangmangames.com/
Hans im Gluck....... http://www.hans-im-glueck.de/
Hasbro.............. http://www.hasbro.com/
Heat of Battle...... http://www.heatofbattle.com/
Hero Games.......... http://www.herogames.com/
Histo............... http://www.histogame.de/e_index.html
HMS/GRD............. http://hmsgrd.com/
Holistic Design..... http://www.holistic-design.com/
HPS Simulations..... http://www.hpssims.com/
Imagine Image Multimedia.. http://www.imagineimage.org/webpage.htm
Identity............ http://www.identitygames.nl/index.php?lang=GB
Interformic Games... http://interformic.com/
Iron Crown.......... http://www.ironcrown.com/
JKLM................ http://www.jklmgames.co.uk/index.php
Jolly Roger......... http://jollyrogergames.hypermart.net/
Khyber Pass......... http://www.khyberpassgamesonline.com/
Krimsus KrimskamsKiste. http://www.krimsu.de/indexenglish.html
L2 Design Group..... http://www.l2designgroup.com/L2%20Design%20Group.html
Laughing Pan Productions. http://www.laughingpan.com/
Live Oak............ http://www.liveoakgames.com/
Looney Labs......... http://www.looneylabs.com/
Lost Batallion...... http://www.lostbattalion.com/
LudoPress........... http://www.simtacludopress.net/Alea_default_ing.htm
Markham Designs..... http://markhamdesigns.tripod.com/
Matrix.............. http://www.matrixgames.com/
Mayfair............. http://www.mayfairgames.com/
Minden Games........ http://www.homestead.com/minden_games/
Multi-Man Pub....... http://www.multimanpublishing.com/index1.php
Naval Warfare Simul. http://www.navalwarfare.net/
Neppa Games......... http://www.neppagames.com/
New England Simulations. http://www.carpatina.com/nes/
Omega Games......... http://www.omegagames.com/omega/do/home/home
One Small Step...... http://www.ossgames.com/products/products.html
Out of the Box...... http://www.otb-games.com/index.html
Operational Studies Group. http://www.napoleongames.com/
Optimus Design...... http://www.ssdc.com/
Pagan Publishing.... http://www.tccorp.com/pagan/
Perry Moore......... http://pweb.jps.net/%7eperrya/
Phalanx Games....... http://www.phalanxgames.nl/
Playroom Entertainment. http://www.playrooment.com/
Plenary............. http://www.plenarygames.com/
Pratzen Editions.... http://www.pratzen.com/index_en.php
Queen Games......... http://www.queen-games.de/
Quest Machine....... http://www.questmachine.com/
R Talsorian Games... http://www.talsorian.com/
Ragnar Bros......... http://www.ragnarbrothers.co.uk/
Ravensburger........ http://www.ravensburger.com/rag/com/usa/produkte/db/startsei...
Reaper Minis....... http://www.reapermini.com/
Red Sash Games..... http://redsashgames.com/
Rio Grande......... http://www.riograndegames.com/
Schutze Games...... http://www.geocities.com/schutze_games/
Shrapnel Games..... http://www.shrapnelgames.com/
Simmons Games...... http://www.simmonsgames.com/
Simply Fun......... http://simplyfun.com/
Simulation Workshop. http://simulationsworkshop.tripod.com/
Splotter Spellen... http://www.splotter.nl/nederlands/index.html
Steve Jackson...... http://www.sjgames.com/
Stratamax.......... http://www.stratamaxgames.com/
Third World........ http://www.wargamer.com/news/
TSR................ http://www.wizards.com/welcome.asp
Twilight Creations. http://www.twilightcreationsinc.com/
Uberplay........... http://www.uberplay.com/main.html
Udo Grebe.......... http://www.ugg.de/
White Wolf......... http://www.white-wolf.com/
Wingnut............ http://www.wingnutgames.com/
Winsome Games...... http://www.fyi.net/~winsome/
Wiz Kids........... http://www.wizkidsgames.com/wk_home.asp
Wizards of the Coast. http://www.wizards.com/welcome.asp
Worthington........ http://www.worthingtongames.com/
Ystari (France).... http://www.ystari.com/index.php
Z-Man Games........ http://www.zmangames.com/

Comments:
Man, that's lotsa links. Lotsa links.
 
Maybe by continent? North America, Europe, Asia? Probably still too big, though.
 
Good idea. Unless the site is in German it can be hard to tell sometimes, though.

I'll give it a try.
 
Good list. You might want to try a wiki, so people can add names to the list? http://pbwiki.com/ provide free hosted wikis.
 
I think that Fun Factory is missing in that list.
 
Post a Comment



<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?